Confrontations

A museum for all

Displaying works from the Villa Vauban collection under a variety of aspects, the exhibition primarily aims to arouse the visitors’ curiosity. Over 70 paintings, watercolours, engravings and sculptures from the 17th to 21st centuries, presented as pairs of opposites or in comparison, invite you to a playful and instructive discovery tour. The unusual presentation of the works as well as a multitude of educational offers make this show accessible to everyone.

The exhibition allows visitors of all ages and educational levels, with or without disabilities, to find out what exactly distinguishes works of art from different epochs. By comparing works with each other, fundamental assessment criteria used by art historians are conveyed. The exhibition tour includes the following topics: Two types of sculpture; Paintings and copies; Of men and animals; Historicism and tableau vivant; Journeys and the longing for Italy; People in costumes; Childhood and school; Variations on a theme.
On the basis of these topics, the exhibition also offers information on general questions of the appreciation of art – What is worthy of artistic representation? What art genres are there? How to distinguish the different styles? How do I view and “read” a painting – always with the aim of sharpening the visitors’ observational skills.

Just like the first edition in 2017, the new Museum for all is based on the concept of accessibility and inclusion (Design for all). Thus, every visitor can discover the exhibits in his own way, according to his motor or cognitive abilities. Special installations and adapted furniture provide an original and interactive approach to art: hands-on sculptures and tactile models of some paintings, multilingual information materials, explanatory films, a puzzle book for children... Provided disguises and a photo machine enable the public to transform themselves into the protagonists of a work of art. Furthermore, a new app can be downloaded that provides additional information about the works and serves as a reading aid for the visually impaired. One room of the exhibition has been arranged as a “children’s museum”.

In addition to the classic educational offers (multilingual regular guided tours, workshops, children’s birthdays, etc.), the museum again offers a cultural programme for people with disabilities.



Date

21 July > 3 February 2019

Confrontations

Ein Museum für alle

Die Ausstellung möchte in erster Linie die Neugierde der Besucher wecken und präsentiert dazu Werke aus der Sammlung der Villa Vauban unter vielfältigen Aspekten. In Form von Gegensatzpaaren oder Vergleichen laden über 70 Gemälde, Aquarelle, Stiche und Skulpturen aus dem 17. bis 21. Jahrhundert zu einer spielerischen und gleichzeitig lehrreichen Entdeckungsreise ein. Die ungewöhnliche Präsentation der Werke sowie eine Vielzahl an Vermittlungsangeboten machen diese Ausstellung für jedermann zugänglich.

Die Ausstellung erlaubt es den Besuchern aller Altersstufen und Bildungsniveaus, mit oder ohne Behinderung, herauszufinden, was genau Kunstwerke aus unterschiedlichen Epochen auszeichnet. Indem Werke einander vergleichend gegenüberstellt werden, können grundlegende kunstgeschichtliche Beurteilungskriterien vermittelt werden. Der Ausstellungsrundgang beinhaltet unter anderem folgende Themen: Zwei Arten der Skulptur; Gemälde und Kopien; Mensch und Tier; Historismus und tableau vivant; Reisen und Italiensehnsucht; Menschen in Kostümen; Kindheit und Schule; Variationen über ein Thema.

Anhand dieser Themen bietet die Ausstellung auch Informationen zu allgemeinen Fragen des Kunstverständnisses – Was ist darstellungswürdig? Welche Kunstgenres gibt es? Wie unterscheidet man die Stile? Wie betrachte und „lese“ ich ein Gemälde? –, stets mit dem Ziel, das Beobachtungsvermögen der Besucherinnen und Besucher zu schärfen.
Genau wie die erste Edition 2017 beruht das neue Museum für alle auf dem Konzept von Barrierefreiheit und Inklusion („Design for all“). So kann jeder Besucher die Exponate auf seine Art entdecken, entsprechend seinen motorischen oder auch kognitiven Fähigkeiten. Spezielle Installationen sowie ein adaptiertes Mobiliar vermitteln einen originellen und interaktiven Zugang zur Kunst: Skulpturen zum Anfassen und Tastmodelle einiger Gemälde, mehrsprachige und jeweils auch in einfacher Sprache gehaltene Informationsmaterialien, Erklärungsfilme, ein Rätselheft für Kinder… Bereitgestellte Verkleidungen und ein Fotoautomat ermöglichen es dem Publikum, sich in die Protagonisten eines Kunstwerkes zu verwandeln. Außerdem kann eine neue App heruntergeladen werden, die Zusatzinformationen zu den Werken bietet und als Lesehilfe für Sehbehinderte dient. Ein Raum der Ausstellung ist als „Kindermuseum“ eingerichtet.

Über die klassischen Vermittlungsangebote (regelmäßige mehrsprachige Führungen, Workshops, Kindergeburtstage, etc.) hinaus bietet das Museum wieder ein Begleitprogramm für Menschen mit Behinderungen an.




Datum

21. Juli > 3. Februar 2019