The five senses in painting

The five human senses – taste, smell, sight, hearing and touch – belong to the most varied and most appealing subjects of European painting. Whereas in Antiquity and the Middle Ages, the senses had rather negative connotations, being considered deceitful or as a promotion of sin, their perception changed with the increasing scientification of thought in the 17th century. The senses were initially represented symbolically or allegorically. The Dutch painting of the Golden Age gradually replaced the initially symbolical or allegorical representation of the senses with narrative genre scenes. The exhibition presents painting and printed graphics of the 17th to 19th centuries in the form of thematic groups of works. Many international loans from around 20 European museums have been supplemented with the collections of Villa Vauban.

A first group of works concentrates on the diversity of allegorical representations of the five senses in Flemish and Dutch 17th-century painting. Large-format allegories and small cabinet paintings with picture cycles by Old Masters like Cornelis de Vos, Adriaen van Ostade, Jan Miense Molenaer, Barent Fabritius, Ambrosius Francken the Younger and Herman van Aldewereld are shown.

The second group of works is dedicated to French still-life painting, blossoming since the 1620s/30s, and its approach to the theme of the five senses. Painters like Jacques Linard and Louise Moillon resided in Paris and were associated with a group of Protestant artists that had specialised in this genre. The section also includes a painting of the important Strasbourg still-life master Sebastian Stoskopff (1597-1657).

A third group of works approaches the five senses by way of the biblical story of the prodigal son, which is often illustrated with crowded inn scenes showing music, drinking and smoking. Although the representations were still meant to be understood as warnings, the joy of the senses prevails for the viewer. Painters like Simon de Vos and David Teniers the Younger dedicated themselves to this pictorial theme, which had been popular in the Netherlands since the end of the 16th century.

How the allegorical is gradually displaced by a narrative representation of the senses is finally shown by the fourth and largest group, consisting of paintings of the 17th to 19th centuries. Works by Philip van Dijk, Luca Giordano, Gerard de Lairesse, Jacob Duck or Michiel Sweerts show genre scenes, people playing music, lovers or scenes of gallantry with concealed allusions to the individual senses.

The show is supplemented by series of printed graphics. Engravers like Pieter Jansz. Quast or Jacob Gole developed discreetly moralising scenes about the five senses, which they seasoned with mockery and spicy ambiguities.

In front of Villa Vauban, the “Garden of the Senses” (created by the municipal Service des Parcs) invites guests to see, taste, smell, feel and hear. In the museum, nine “experience stations” (by Schloß Freudenberg, Wiesbaden) invite visitors from ages 3 to 103 to develop their senses and thinking.

Date

19 March > 26 June 2016

Die fünf Sinne in der Malerei

Die fünf menschlichen Sinne – Schmecken, Riechen, Sehen, Hören und Fühlen – gehören zu den variantenreichsten und ansprechendsten Themen der europäischen Malerei. Waren sie in Antike und Mittelalter noch weitgehend negativ besetzt – als trügerisch bzw. der Sünde förderlich –, so änderte sich deren Wahrnehmung mit der zunehmenden Verwissenschaftlichung des Denkens im 17. Jahrhundert. Die anfängliche Darstellung der Sinne in symbolisch-allegorischer Form ersetzt die niederländische Malerei des Goldenen Zeitalters nach und nach durch erzählerische Genredarstellungen. Die Ausstellung präsentiert in Form thematischer Werkgruppen Malerei und Druckgraphik des 17. bis 19. Jahrhunderts. Zahlreiche internationale Leihgaben aus rund 20 europäischen Museen werden dabei durch Bestände der Villa Vauban ergänzt.

Eine erste Werkgruppe konzentriert sich auf die Mannigfaltigkeit allegorischer Darstellungen der fünf Sinne in der flämischen und holländischen Malerei des 17. Jahrhunderts. Gezeigt werden großformatige Allegorien und kleine Kabinettgemälde mit Bildzyklen von Altmeistern wie Cornelis de Vos, Adriaen van Ostade, Jan Miense Molenaer, Barent Fabritius, Ambrosius Francken d.J. und Herman van Aldewereld.

Die zweite Werkgruppe widmet sich der in den 1620er/30er Jahren aufblühenden französischen Stilllebenmalerei und ihrem Umgang mit dem Thema der fünf Sinne. Maler wie Jacques Linard und die Malerin Louise Moillon waren in Paris mit einer Gruppe protestantischer Künstler verbunden, welche sich auf dieses Genre spezialisiert hatten. Gezeigt wird zudem ein Gemälde des bedeutenden Straßburger Stilllebenmeisters Sebastian Stoskopff (1597-1657).

Eine dritte Werkgruppe nähert sich den fünf Sinnen über die biblische Geschichte vom verlorenen Sohn, die oftmals mit gedrängten Wirtshausszenen illustriert wird, in denen man musiziert, trinkt und raucht. Wenngleich die Darstellungen noch als Ermahnung verstanden werden wollten, so herrscht für den Betrachter doch die Sinnenfreude vor. Maler wie Simon de Vos und David Teniers d.J. widmeten sich diesem seit dem Ende des 16. Jahrhunderts in den Niederlanden populären Bildthema.

Wie das Allegorische allmählich durch eine erzählerische Darstellung der Sinne verdrängt wird, zeigt schließlich die vierte und größte Gruppe, bestehend aus Gemälden des 17. bis 19. Jahrhunderts. Werke von Philip van Dijk, Luca Giordano, Gerard de Lairesse, Jacob Duck oder Michiel Sweerts zeigen Genreszenen, musizierende Personen, Liebespaare oder galante Szenen mit versteckten Anspielungen auf die einzelnen Sinne.

Die Schau wird ergänzt durch druckgraphische Serien. Stecher wie Pieter Jansz. Quast oder Jacob Gole entwickelten dezent moralisierende Szenen über die fünf Sinne, die sie mit Spott und pikanten Zweideutigkeiten würzten.

Vor der Villa Vauban verführt der „Garten der Sinne“ des städtischen Service des Parcs zum Sehen, Schmecken, Riechen, Fühlen und Hören. Im Museum laden die neun „Erfahrungsfeldstationen“ von Schloß Freudenberg, Wiesbaden, Menschen von 3 bis 103 zur Entfaltung der Sinne und des Denkens ein.

Datum

19. März > 26. Juni 2016

Sponsors