Confrontations

A museum for all

Displaying works from the Villa Vauban collection under a variety of aspects, the exhibition primarily aims to arouse the visitors’ curiosity. Over 70 paintings, watercolours, engravings and sculptures from the 17th to 21st centuries, presented as pairs of opposites or in comparison, invite you to a playful and instructive discovery tour. The unusual presentation of the works as well as a multitude of educational offers make this show accessible to everyone.

The exhibition allows visitors of all ages and educational levels, with or without disabilities, to find out what exactly distinguishes works of art from different epochs. By comparing works with each other, fundamental assessment criteria used by art historians are conveyed. The exhibition tour includes the following topics: Two types of sculpture; Paintings and copies; Of men and animals; Historicism and tableau vivant; Journeys and the longing for Italy; People in costumes; Childhood and school; Variations on a theme.
On the basis of these topics, the exhibition also offers information on general questions of the appreciation of art – What is worthy of artistic representation? What art genres are there? How to distinguish the different styles? How do I view and “read” a painting – always with the aim of sharpening the visitors’ observational skills.

Just like the first edition in 2017, the new Museum for all is based on the concept of accessibility and inclusion (Design for all). Thus, every visitor can discover the exhibits in his own way, according to his motor or cognitive abilities. Special installations and adapted furniture provide an original and interactive approach to art: hands-on sculptures and tactile models of some paintings, multilingual information materials, explanatory films, a puzzle book for children... Provided disguises and a photo machine enable the public to transform themselves into the protagonists of a work of art. Furthermore, a new app can be downloaded that provides additional information about the works and serves as a reading aid for the visually impaired. One room of the exhibition has been arranged as a “children’s museum”.

In addition to the classic educational offers (multilingual regular guided tours, workshops, children’s birthdays, etc.), the museum again offers a cultural programme for people with disabilities.



Date

21 July > 3 February 2019

Confrontations

Un musée pour tous

Visant à susciter la curiosité du visiteur, l’exposition présente des œuvres de la collection de la Villa Vauban sous divers aspects. Réunis par paires d’opposés ou en rapprochement, plus que 70 tableaux, aquarelles, gravures et sculptures du XVIIe jusqu’au XXIe siècle se proposent à une découverte à la fois ludique et instructive. La présentation inédite des œuvres ainsi qu’une multitude d’outils et de supports spéciaux rendent cette exposition accessible au plus grand nombre.

L’exposition permet aux visiteurs de tous âges, niveaux d’éducation, en situation de handicap ou non, de découvrir ce qui distingue des œuvres d’art de différentes époques. En comparant ou confrontant les œuvres, elle familiarise le public avec les critères établis de l’histoire de l’art. Les sujets du parcours sont entre autres : Deux manières de sculpter ; Peintures et copies ; L’homme et l’animal ; Historicisme et tableau vivant ; Voyages et le charme de l’Italie ; Hommes costumés ; L’enfance et l’école ; Variations sur un thème.

À l’aide de ces sujets, l’exposition renseigne aussi sur des questions plus générales liées à l’appréciation de l’art – Qu’est-ce qui est digne d’une représentation artistique ? Quels sont les genres artistiques ? Comment distinguer les styles ? Comment regarder et déchiffrer un tableau ? –, le but étant d’affiner le sens de l’observation des visiteurs.
Tout comme la première édition de 2017, le nouveau Musée pour tous repose sur le concept d’accessibilité et d’inclusion (« Design for all »). Ainsi, chaque visiteur peut découvrir les œuvres exposées à sa manière, selon ses capacités motrices ou encore cognitives. Des outils de médiation spécialement conçus ainsi qu’un mobilier adapté en donnent une lecture originale et interactive : sculptures à toucher et maquettes en relief de certains tableaux, supports d’information en plusieurs langues et en langue simplifiée, films explicatifs, carnet de visite pour enfants… Des déguisements ainsi qu’une borne photographique permettent à tous les visiteurs de s’identifier aux protagonistes d’une œuvre d’art. Une nouvelle appli téléchargeable fournit des informations complémentaires sur les œuvres et sert d’aide aux malvoyants. Un espace de l’exposition est aménagé en « Musée pour enfants ».

Outre le maintien des activités de médiation classiques (visites guidées régulières en plusieurs langues, ateliers, anniversaires d’enfants, …), le musée propose à nouveau un programme complémentaire pour les personnes à besoins spécifiques.

Date

21 juillet > 3 février 2019