The museum was designed to reflect the specificity of its collection of paintings originally acquired by wealthy private collectors in the 18th and 19th century. Its core structure, an urban villa from 1873, was redeveloped under the supervision of architect Philippe Schmit of the Luxembourg-based office Diane Heirend & Philippe Schmit architectes, whose contemporary extension engages in a stimulating architectural dialogue with the historic building.
On solid walls...
The Villa Vauban owes its name to a fort of the former Luxembourg fortress built by the fortress architect of Louis XIV, Sébastien Le Prestre Vauban (1633 - 1707) which served as the foundation of the later residence. Today an impressive part of the fortress wall of the 18th century can be admired in the basement of the museum.
Relaxing in a historic garden
The museum complex is located in a park designed by the French architect Édouard André (1840 - 1911), one of the leading landscape planners of his time. Extensive refurbishment works will recover the park's original design, thus allowing visitors to explore historic works of art in a quiet and relaxing setting in the heart of the city.
Awards of the Villa Vauban
- TECU® Architecture Award 2010
- Prix Luxembourgeois d'Architecture 2011, Domaine Architecture (ex aequo)