In 2020, Villa Vauban was able to acquire an extraordinary collection of over 1,000 prints from the 16th to the early 20th century. In the future, a series of small-format exhibitions will present various thematic ensembles from it. The first of these cabinet exhibitions is dedicated to animal depictions in graphic art from the 17th to the 19th century.

Driven by a scientific interest in the animal world, the artists of the Dutch “Golden Age” tried to depict animals as lifelike as possible. In the exhibition, numerous prints by Paulus Potter (1625–1654), Nicolaes Visscher I (1618–1679), Karel Dujardin (1622–1678) and Adriaen van de Velde (1636–1672), among others, mainly show domestic animals: cattle, horses, goats and sheep. Works by Pieter Gerardus van Os (1776–1839) illustrate the extent to which the 17th century influenced the depictions of animals by later engravers.

The project which aims to make the collection accessible is supported by the Fondation du Pélican (Mie et Pierre Hippert-Faber), foundation entrusted to the Fondation de Luxembourg. This funding will enable various forms of artistic and cultural mediation around the topic of engravings as well as the restoration and documentation of the print collection.

Date

14 July > 9 June 2024

2020 konnte die Villa Vauban eine außergewöhnliche Sammlung von über 1.000 Druckgrafiken des 16. bis frühen 20. Jahrhunderts erwerben. In Form einer Serie kleinformatiger Ausstellungen werden zukünftig verschiedene thematische Ensembles daraus gezeigt werden. Die erste dieser Kabinettausstellungen widmet sich den Tierdarstellungen in der Grafikkunst des 17. bis 19. Jahrhunderts.

Angetrieben von einem wissenschaftlichen Interesse an der Tierwelt, versuchten die Künstler des niederländischen „Goldenen Zeitalters“, Tiere möglichst naturgetreu darzustellen. Davon zeugen in der Ausstellung zahlreiche Blätter von u.a. Paulus Potter (1625–1654), Nicolaes Visscher I (1618–1679), Karel Dujardin (1622–1678) oder Adriaen van de Velde (1636–1672), die hauptsächlich Haustiere zeigen: Rinder, Pferde, Ziegen und Schafe. Arbeiten von Pieter Gerardus van Os (1776–1839) illustrieren, inwieweit das 17. Jahrhundert die Tierdarstellungen späterer Kupferstecher beeinflusst hat.

Das Projekt zur Erschließung der Sammlung wird von der Fondation du Pélican (Mie et Pierre Hippert-Faber), Treuhandstiftung der Fondation de Luxembourg, unterstützt. Diese Förderung wird verschiedene Formen der Kunst- und Kulturvermittlung rund um die Druckgrafik sowie die Restaurierung und Dokumentation des Grafikkonvoluts ermöglichen.

Datum

14. Juli > 9. Juni 2024