With more than 100 paintings and 14 sculptures, the permanent exhibition at Villa Vauban takes visitors on a journey through three centuries of artistic creation: from the 17th-century Netherlands to Italian dreamscapes and French painting around 1850. In addition to styles, art periods and numerous masterpieces, there are small formats and miniatures to discover, as well as the spectacular acquisitions of Jean-Pierre Pescatore, benefactor of the City of Luxembourg, on the occasion of the auction of King Willem II of the Netherlands’ collection in 1850.

In fact, the municipal art collection dates back to three important donations of the 19th century: that of the Parisian financier Pescatore in 1855, that of Leo Lippmann, banker in Amsterdam in 1878 and that of Eugénie Dutreux-Pescatore, heiress of a Luxembourg industrialist family, in 1903. The collections, consisting mainly of oil paintings, reflect on the one hand the need for representation and on the other the typically eclectic collecting style of the upper classes.

Among the 17th-century Dutch works, the visitor encounters landscapes, portraits, genre scenes or still lifes by Jan Brueghel the Younger, Gerrit Dou, Jan van Goyen, Adam Pynacker, David Teniers the Younger, Jacob van Ruisdael, Adriaen van de Velde and Philips Wouwerman. Among the small picture formats, portraits by Frans Pourbus the Younger and Jean Louis Ernest Meissonier stand out. The room dedicated to Italian subjects shows beautiful marble sculptures by Lorenzo Nencini, two splendid views of Venice by Canaletto as well as the Young Neapolitan Women by Guillaume Bodinier or a landscape near Sorrento painted by Oswald Achenbach. French art of the 19th century is represented by Eugène Delacroix’s Young Turk, a dreamy portrait by William Adolphe Bouguereau and landscapes by Camille Corot, Jules Dupré or Gustave Courbet. The large- format paintings from the Royal Dutch Collection are dominated by Jan Steen’s Epiphany and Paul Delaroche’s A Mother’s Joy. At the end of the tour, there is a room with changing hangings and a room with 19th-century seascapes, including a remarkable beach scene by Eugène Isabey.

The great diversity of subjects and artistic styles is conveyed at the beginning of the tour in the form of an immersive video projection that transports visitors into the atmosphere of the paintings they will discover on their stroll through art.

Catalogue
A stroll through art. European painting and sculpture, 17th–19th century
Luxembourg 2021, 176 pages, colour plates, ISBN 978-2-919878-22-2, 10 €

Mit über 100 Gemälden und 14 Skulpturen nimmt die permanente Ausstellung in der Villa Vauban den Besucher mit auf einen Rundgang durch drei Jahrhunderte künstlerischen Schaffens: von den Niederlanden des 17. Jahrhunderts über die Sehnsuchtsorte Italiens bis hin zur französischen Malerei um die Mitte des 19. Jahrhunderts. Neben Stilen, Kunstepochen und zahlreichen Meisterwerken gibt es Kleinformate und Miniaturen sowie die spektakulären Erwerbungen Jean-Pierre Pescatores, Stifter und Wohltäter der Stadt Luxemburg, anlässlich der Versteigerung der Sammlung des Königs Willem II. der Niederlande 1850 zu entdecken.

Die städtische Kunstsammlung geht nämlich auf drei bedeutende Schenkungen des 19. Jahrhunderts zurück: jene des Pariser Financiers Pescatore von 1855, jene Leo Lippmanns, Bankier in Amsterdam von 1878 und 1903 jene von Eugénie Dutreux-Pescatore, Erbin einer Luxemburger Industriellenfamilie. Die hauptsächlich aus Ölgemälden bestehenden Sammlungen spiegeln einerseits das Repräsentationsbedürfnis und andererseits den typisch eklektischen Sammelstil des Großbürgertums.

Unter den niederländischen Werken des 17. Jahrhunderts trifft der Besucher auf Landschaften, Portraits, Genreszenen oder Stillleben von Jan Brueghel dem Jüngeren, Gerrit Dou, Jan van Goyen, Adam Pynacker, David Teniers dem Jüngeren, Jacob van Ruisdael, Adriaen van de Velde und Philips
Wouwerman. Unter den kleinen Bildformaten stechen Portraits von Frans Pourbus dem Jüngeren und Jean Louis Ernest Meissonier hervor. Der dem Italienthema gewidmete Saal zeigt schöne Marmorskulpturen von Lorenzo Nencini, zwei herrliche Venedig-Ansichten von Canaletto sowie die Jungen Neapolitanerinnen von Guillaume Bodinier oder eine Landschaft nahe Sorrent, gemalt von Oswald Achenbach. Die französische Kunst des 19. Jahrhunderts ist durch den Jungen Türken von Eugène Delacroix vertreten, ein verträumtes Portrait von William Adolphe Bouguereau und Landschaften von Camille Corot, Jules Dupré oder Gustave Courbet. Die großformatigen Gemälde aus der königlichniederländischen Sammlung werden beherrscht von Jan Steens Dreikönigsfest und den Mutterfreuden Paul Delaroches. Am Ende des Rundgangs warten ein Raum mit wechselnden Hängungen sowie ein Saal mit Seestücken des 19. Jahrhunderts, darunter eine bemerkenswerte Strandszene von Eugène Isabey.

Die große Vielfalt der Sujets und Kunststile wird zu Beginn des Rundgangs in Form einer immersiven Videoprojektion vermittelt, welche die Besucher in die Atmosphäre der Gemälde versetzt, welche sie auf ihrem Spaziergang durch die Kunst entdecken werden.

Katalog
Ein Spaziergang durch die Kunst. Europäische Malerei und Skulptur, 17.–19. Jahrhundert
Luxemburg 2021, 176 Seiten, Abb. in Farbe, ISBN 978-2-919878-20-8, 10 €