From the Moselle into the world

The painter Frantz Seimetz (1858-1934)

Frantz Seimetz left behind a substantial œuvre and is renowned for his portraits and charming landscape paintings in the impressionist style. Alongside various loan items, the exhibition showcases for the first time a recently restored ensemble of approximately 70 works, most of which form part of a bequest to the City of Luxembourg by the painter’s widow.

Born in Grevenmacher on the Moselle on 21 April 1858, Seimetz initially worked as a painter and decorator, before leading industrialist and minister Antoine Pescatore discovered his artistic talent and became his patron. Following an apprenticeship, Seimetz moved to Brussels to study painting in 1875. He subsequently attended the Munich Academy of Fine Arts (1879-1881) and the Paris École des Beaux-Arts (1881-1887).

In 1887, he relocated to the United States, from where he travelled to the Antilles, Mexico and Canada. It was only in 1896 that he returned to Luxembourg, accompanied by many painted impressions of these countries. Together with his wife Marie-Antoinette Bourger, he embarked on further travels throughout Europe, which took him to the Baltic Sea, Munich, the Alsace, the South of France and Italy, among others.

In 1904, he was awarded the Grand-Duke Adolphe Prize, together with painter Dominique Lang.

From 1916 onwards, Seimetz lived in Echternach. This period of his life yielded a large number of works featuring Luxembourg landscapes, among them the Mullerthal, which brought him fame.

Unable to paint in later life due to an eye condition, Seimetz devoted himself to authoring the four-volume work Der Feuersalamander (The fire salamander, published from 1931 to 1934)

Frantz Seimetz was the first Luxembourgish artist to espouse impressionism and to favour open-air painting. This exhibition featuring oil paintings and watercolours pays tribute to an important figure in Luxembourg’s history of art at the turn of the 19th to the 20th century, while also drawing the attention of the wider public to the unusual life story of the artist.

Date

18 January > 25 May 2014

Frantz Seimetz, der ein reichhaltiges Œuvre hinterlassen hat, ist bekannt für seine Porträts und reizvollen Landschaftsgemälde im impressionistischen Stil. Die Ausstellung zeigt, neben verschiedenen Leihgaben, erstmals ein kürzlich restauriertes Ensemble von ca. 70 Werken, welches größtenteils aus einer Schenkung der Witwe des Malers an die Stadt Luxemburg stammt.

Am 21. April 1858 in Grevenmacher an der Mosel geboren, arbeitete Seimetz zunächst als Dekorateur und Maler, bis der Industrielle und Minister Antoine Pescatore sein künstlerisches Talent entdeckte und ihn förderte. Nach einer Malerausbildung begann er 1875 sein Malereistudium in Brüssel und besuchte anschließend die Münchner Akademie der Bildenden Künste (1879-1881) sowie die Pariser École des Beaux-Arts (1881-1887).

1887 siedelt er in die Vereinigten Staaten über, von wo aus er die Antillen, Mexiko und Kanada bereist. Erst 1896 kehrt er, zusammen mit zahlreichen gemalten Eindrücken dieser Länder, wieder nach Luxemburg zurück. Gemeinsam mit seiner Frau Marie-Antoinette Bourger unternimmt er dann weitere Reisen innerhalb Europas, die ihn u.a. an die Ostsee, nach München, ins Elsass, nach Südfrankreich sowie nach Italien führen.

1904 wurde ihm, zusammen mit dem Maler Dominique Lang, der Prix Grand-Duc Adolphe verliehen.

Ab 1916, als der Maler in Echternach lebte, entstanden eine große Zahl an Luxemburger Landschaftsansichten, darunter das Mullerthal, für die er berühmt wurde.

Im Alter durch ein Augenleiden am Malen gehindert, betätigte Seimetz sich als Autor des vierbändigen Werkes Der Feuersalamander – Einfälle und Ausfälle (erschienen von 1931 bis 1934).

Frantz Seimetz war der erste luxemburgische Maler, der sich am Impressionismus orientierte und die Freiluftmalerei bevorzugte. Die Ausstellung mit Ölgemälden und Aquarellen würdigt eine wichtige Persönlichkeit der Luxemburger Malereigeschichte an der Wende vom 19. zum 20. Jahrhundert und rückt gleichzeitig die ungewöhnliche Lebensgeschichte des Malers ins Blickfeld einer breiten Öffentlichkeit.

Datum

18. January > 25. May 2014