The exhibition documents the major creative periods of Charles Kohl, one of Luxembourg’s most important sculptors and two-time winner of the Prix Grand-Duc Adolphe. With his often fragmentary bodies and faceless heads, the artist created a stylized human anatomy that symbolizes both the vulnerability and the power of body and soul. Veiled forms, warriors, circus people or equestrian figures are the recurring themes and means of expression in his sculptural and graphic work.

A richly illustrated catalogue will be published to accompany the exhibition. This 200-page publication is the first monograph on the artist that classifies his work in an art-historical context and presents selected works. You can buy the catalogue online.

In addition to this catalogue which has been edited by the Villa Vauban team, Charles Kohl's family has developed a website. This site has been designed to make his work known. The site includes photos of his paintings, sculptures, drawings and sketches, but also portraits of the artist himself. Discover the website here: www.charleskohl.com

Date

28 March > 17 January 2021

Die Ausstellung dokumentiert die wesentlichen Schaffensperioden von Charles Kohl, einem der bedeutendsten Luxemburger Bildhauer und zweifachen Preisträger des Prix Grand-Duc Adolphe. Mit seinen oft fragmentarischen Körpern und gesichtslosen Köpfen schuf der der Künstler eine stilisierte menschliche Anatomie, welche sowohl die Verwundbarkeit wie auch die Kraft von Körper und Geist versinnbildlicht. Verschleierte Formen, Krieger, Zirkusleute oder Reiterfiguren sind die wiederkehrenden Themen und Ausdrucksmittel in seinem bildhauerischen und zeichnerischen Werk.

Zur Ausstellung erscheint ein reich bebilderter Katalog. Diese 200-seitige Publikation ist die erste Monographie zum Künstler, die sein Werk kunsthistorisch einordnet und ausgewählte Arbeiten präsentiert. Sie können den Katalog online kaufen.

Zusätzlich zu diesem Katalog, der vom Team der Villa Vauban herausgegeben wurde, hat die Familie von Charles Kohl eine Website entwickelt. Diese Website wurde erstellt, um seine Arbeit bekannt zu machen. Die Website enthält Fotos von seinen Gemälden, Skulpturen, Zeichnungen und Skizzen, aber auch Porträts des Künstlers selbst. Entdecken Sie die Website hier: www.charleskohl.com

Datum

28. March > 17. January 2021