In 2019 Villa Vauban once again renews its concept of a “museum for all”. Under the title “Variations”, a colourful selection from the museum’s collections will be on display with around 70 paintings, sculptures, graphics and drawings from the 17th to the 21st century. The unusual presentation of the works as well as a multitude of educational offers make this exhibition accessible to everyone.

Among the exhibited works, several new acquisitions stand out, as well as a donation by the Amis des Musées Luxembourg: two monochrome portraits of the 17th-century Antwerp painter Abraham van Diepenbeeck.The exhibition is dedicated to various exciting questions about art history and artistic techniques: How were engravings or grisailles made after a painting? How can forgeries of classical works of art be identified? Why and how did the artists make sketches or drawings before painting their pictures? At the same time, several thematic ensembles await the visitor: i.a. 19th-century portraits of bourgeois citizens by Karl von Pidoll and Jean-Baptiste Fresez, landscapes and seascapes (including Canaletto, Dagnan and Calame) as well as a “Children’s Museum” with the family portraits of the Impressionist painter Corneille Lentz (1879-1937).

Like the two previous editions, the new Museum for all is based on the concept of accessibility and inclusion. Thus, visitors can discover the exhibits in their own way, according to their motor or cognitive abilities. Special installations provide an original and interactive approach to art: hands-on sculptures and tactile models of some paintings, multilingual and plain language information materials, explanatory films... The disguises provided and a photo booth enable the public to transform themselves into the protagonists of a work of art. A mobile app offers additional information on the artworks.

Date

20 July > 17 January 2021

2019 erneuert die Villa Vauban nochmals ihr Konzept eines „Museums für alle“. Unter dem Titel „Variations“ wird mit ca. 70 Gemälden, Skulpturen, Grafiken und Zeichnungen, vom 17. bis zum 21. Jahrhundert, eine farbenfrohe Auswahl aus den Sammlungen des Hauses gezeigt. Die ungewöhnliche Präsentation der Werke sowie eine Vielzahl an Vermittlungsangeboten machen diese Ausstellung für jedermann zugänglich.

Unter den ausgestellten Werken stechen mehrere Neuerwerbungen sowie eine Schenkung der Amis des Musées Luxembourg hervor: zwei monochrome Portraits des Antwerpener Malers Abraham van Diepenbeeck aus dem 17. Jahrhundert. Die Ausstellung widmet sich verschiedenen spannenden Fragen rund um die Kunstgeschichte und künstlerische Techniken: Wie wurden Stiche oder Grisaillen nach einem Gemälde angefertigt? Wie kann man Fälschungen klassischer Kunstwerke erkennen? Warum und wie fertigten die Künstler Skizzen oder Zeichnungen an, ehe sie ihre Bilder malten? Parallel dazu erwarten den Besucher mehrere thematische Ensembles: u.a. bürgerliche Portraits des 19. Jahrhunderts von Karl von Pidoll und Jean-Baptiste Fresez, Landschaften und Seestücke (u.a. Canaletto, Dagnan, Calame) sowie ein „Kindermuseum“ mit den Familienportraits des Impressionisten Corneille Lentz (1879–1937).

So wie die zwei vorangegangenen Editionen beruht auch das neue Museum für alle auf dem Konzept von Barrierefreiheit und Inklusion. Jeder Besucher kann die Exponate auf seine Art entdecken, entsprechend seinen motorischen oder auch kognitiven Fähigkeiten. Spezielle Installationen vermitteln einen originellen und interaktiven Zugang zur Kunst: u.a. Skulpturen zum Anfassen und Tastmodelle einiger Gemälde, mehrsprachige und jeweils auch in einfacher Sprache gehaltene Informationsmaterialien sowie Erklärungsfilme. Bereitgestellte Verkleidungen und ein Fotoautomat ermöglichen es dem Publikum, sich in die Protagonisten eines Kunstwerkes zu verwandeln. Außerdem bietet eine mobile App Zusatzinformationen zu den Werken.

Datum

20. July > 17. January 2021