In 2019 Villa Vauban once again renews its concept of a “museum for all”. Under the title “Variations”, a colourful selection from the museum’s collections will be on display with around 70 paintings, sculptures, graphics and drawings from the 17th to the 21st century. The unusual presentation of the works as well as a multitude of educational offers make this exhibition accessible to everyone.

Among the exhibited works, several new acquisitions stand out, as well as a donation by the Amis des Musées Luxembourg: two monochrome portraits of the 17th-century Antwerp painter Abraham van Diepenbeeck.The exhibition is dedicated to various exciting questions about art history and artistic techniques: How were engravings or grisailles made after a painting? How can forgeries of classical works of art be identified? Why and how did the artists make sketches or drawings before painting their pictures? At the same time, several thematic ensembles await the visitor: i.a. 19th-century portraits of bourgeois citizens by Karl von Pidoll and Jean-Baptiste Fresez, landscapes and seascapes (including Canaletto, Dagnan and Calame) as well as a “Children’s Museum” with the family portraits of the Impressionist painter Corneille Lentz (1879-1937).

Like the two previous editions, the new Museum for all is based on the concept of accessibility and inclusion. Thus, visitors can discover the exhibits in their own way, according to their motor or cognitive abilities. Special installations provide an original and interactive approach to art: hands-on sculptures and tactile models of some paintings, multilingual and plain language information materials, explanatory films... The disguises provided and a photo booth enable the public to transform themselves into the protagonists of a work of art. A mobile app offers additional information on the artworks.

Date

20 July > 17 January 2021

Pour 2019, la Villa Vauban a une fois de plus renouvelé son concept du « musée pour tous ». Sous le titre « Variations », l’exposition présente un éventail varié et haut en couleurs des collections du musée, avec environ 70 peintures, sculptures, gravures et dessins, du XVIIe jusqu’au XXIe siècle. Une présentation inédite des œuvres ainsi qu’une multitude d’aides à la visite rendent cette exposition accessible au plus grand nombre.


Parmi les œuvres exposées, on remarque plusieurs nouvelles acquisitions ainsi qu’un don récent des Amis des Musées Luxembourg : deux portraits monochromes du XVIIe siècle par le peintre anversois Abraham van Diepenbeeck. L’exposition aborde différentes questions intéressantes liées à l’histoire de l’art et les techniques artistiques : Comment faisait-on une gravure ou une grisaille d’après un tableau ? Comment reconnaître les faux d’œuvres anciennes ? Pourquoi et comment les artistes faisaient-ils des esquisses ou dessins avant de peindre leurs tableaux ? Parallèlement, le visiteur découvre plusieurs ensembles thématiques : entre autres des portraits de bourgeois du XIXe siècle par Karl von Pidoll et Jean-Baptiste Fresez, des paysages et des marines (dont Canaletto, Dagnan, Calame) ainsi qu’un « musée pour enfants » autour des portraits de famille du peintre impressionniste Corneille Lentz (1879–1937).

Tout comme les deux éditions précédentes, le nouveau Musée pour tous repose sur le concept d’accessibilité et d’inclusion : chaque visiteur découvre les œuvres exposées à sa manière, selon ses capacités motrices ou encore cognitives. Des outils de médiation spécialement conçus en donnent une lecture originale et interactive : sculptures à toucher et maquettes en relief de certains tableaux, supports d’information multilingues et en langage facile, films explicatifs… Des déguisements ainsi qu’une borne photographique permettent à tous les visiteurs de s’identifier aux protagonistes d’une œuvre d’art. Une application mobile fournit des informations complémentaires sur les œuvres.

Date

20 juillet > 17 janvier 2021