John Constable (1776–1837) is one of England’s most celebrated and best-loved landscape painters. Together with J.M.W. Turner, Constable revolutionised the range and status of British landscape painting in the nineteenth century. In contrast to Turner, an inveterate traveller whose subject-matter embraced large stretches of Britain and continental Europe, Constable concentrated on painting places closely associated with his life. His famous pictures feature locations in Suffolk where he was born and raised and Salisbury, Hampstead and Brighton, areas where friends and family lived, which he visited regularly.

This exhibition takes as its guiding theme the powerful inspiration Constable took for his art from these locations and shows how it gradually matured – and became enriched, through his abiding engagement with landscapes holding deeply personal associations.
The exhibition also incorporates artwork by Constable’s contemporaries, and in many cases competitors. Paintings by Turner, John Linnell, Benjamin West and others are interwoven throughout the show to provide context to Constable’s work and demonstrate how other artists were depicting their own local landscapes contemporaneously.

Tate has one of the most important collections of Constable’s work in the world, covering the full chronological span of his output. His powerful late works are especially well represented in Tate’s collection.
The works on show range from the smallest of Constable’s rapidly painted en plein air sketches to the largest of his elaborate and famous landscapes. The exhibition also includes examples of the artist’s small to mid-scale ‘cabinet’ pictures, drawings, watercolours and engravings.

Organised in cooperation with Tate

Date

1 July > 9 October 2022

Partners

Tate

John Constable (1776–1837) zählt zu den angesehensten und beliebtesten englischen Landschaftsmalern. Zusammen mit J.M.W. Turner revolutionierte er die Reichweite und den Status der britischen Landschaftsmalerei im 19. Jahrhundert. Im Gegensatz zu Turner, dessen zahlreiche Reisen ihn zu Motiven in ganz Großbritannien und Kontinentaleuropa führten, konzentrierte Constable sich in seiner Malerei auf sein unmittelbares Lebensumfeld. Seine bekannten Bilder zeigen seine Heimat Suffolk sowie Gegenden um die von ihm häufig besuchten Orte Salisbury, Hampstead und Brighton, wo seine Freunde und Familie lebten.

Leitthema der Schau ist die besondere Inspiration, welche Constable aus diesen Orten für seine Kunst bezog. Es wird gezeigt, wie sein beständiger Kontakt zu Landschaften, denen er persönlich zutiefst verbunden war, seine Kunst bereicherte und heranreifen ließ.

Die Ausstellung enthält zudem Werke einiger von Constables Zeitgenossen, die in vielen Fällen auch seine Konkurrenten waren: Gemälde von Turner, John Linnell, Benjamin West und anderen stellen Constables Arbeiten in ihren Kontext und illustrieren, wie andere Künstler ihre eigenen lokalen Landschaften zur gleichen Zeit darstellten.

Tate besitzt eine der weltweit bedeutendsten Sammlungen von Constables Werken, die sämtliche Perioden seines Schaffens abbildet, mit einem Schwerpunkt auf den besonders ausdrucksstarken späten Arbeiten des Künstlers.

Die gezeigten Gemälde reichen von Constables kleinformatigen, schnell gemalten Freiluftskizzen bis hin zu den größten seiner aufwändigen und berühmten Landschaftsbilder. Zusätzlich sind Beispiele seiner klein- bis mittelformatigen Kabinettbilder, Zeichnungen, Aquarelle und Stiche zu sehen.

In Kooperation mit der Tate.

Datum

1. Juli > 9. Oktober 2022

Partners

Tate